2016 UE4SD Conference


Monday 27 June

9:00-15:00 UE4SD Annual Meeting - for UE4SD members only 


16:30 Registration

17:00 Opening

The Hon. Fabian Picardo Chief Minister of Gibraltar

17:15 Welcome

  • Prof. Daniella Tilbury, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gibraltar
  • UE4SD Steering Committee representative (TBA).

17:30 Panel - International and UN frameworks on ESD in Higher Education

Chair: His Excellency Lieutenant-General Edward Davis CB CBE, Governor and Commander-in-Chief

  • Dr Alexander Leicht, Chief, Education for Sustainable Development, UNESCO Paris
  • Adriana Valenzuela, Education, Training and Public Awareness, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change Secretariat UNCTAD
  • Dr Fabrice Millet, Chief ASYCUDA Programme, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

19:00 Overview of Conference Programme

Dr Ingrid Mulà, UE4SD Project Coordinator

19:15 Launch of the Online UE4SD Platform

  • The Hon. Gilbert Licudi, Minister for Education, Justice and International Exchange of Information (TBC)
  • Dr Alexander Leicht, Chief, Education for Sustainable Development, UNESCO Paris

20:00 Reception

Tuesday 28 June

9:30 Copernicus Alliance Keynote

Prof Heila Lotz-Sisitka, Murray & Roberts Chair of Environmental Education and Sustainability at Rhodes University, South Africa

10:15 Panel response to the keynote

Moderator: Dr Jana Dlouhá, COPERNICUS Alliance and Charles University Prague

  • Prof Gerd Michelsen, Senior Professor, Leuphana University of Lüneburg
  • Dr Alex Ryan, Director of Sustainability, University of Gloucestershire
  • Prof Peter Corcoran, Professor of Environmental Studies and Education, Florida Gulf Coast University
  • Prof Michael Scoullos, UNESCO Chair, University of Athens, Mediterranean Information Office for Environment, Culture and Sustainable Development (MIO-ECSDE)

11:00 Coffee break

11:30 Parallel sessions

Professional Development

Chair: Dr Maik Adomssent, Leuphana University of Lüneburg

Pathways for Quality and Partnerships

Chair: Dr Jana Dlouhá, COPERNICUS Alliance and Charles University Prague

Possibilities for Change

Chair: Dr Paula Lindroos, Uppsala University, Baltic University Programme

  • 13:00 Lunch

14:30 Panel session: “Universities as beacons of change for sustainability”

Moderation: Dr Alex Ryan, University of Gloucestershire (UK)

  • Prof Nick Foskett, Chair of Academic Board, University of Gibraltar and Former Vice-Chancellor of Keele University
  • Dr Rodrigo Lozano, Subject Editor for the Journal of Cleaner Production and Assistant
  • Professor at the University of Utrecht
  • Prof Fernando Galván - President of the CRUE Sustainability Commission & Rector of the Universidad de Alcalá

16:00 Coffee break

16:30 UE4SD Higher Education Academy Experience

Convenor: Prof Javier Benayas, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid


  • Dr Mercè Junyent, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Leslie Collazo, Universitat de Girona
  • Prof. José Gutiérrez, Universidad de Granada
  • Aitxiber Zallo, Universidad del País Vasco (UPV/EHU)

18:30 Closing

Prof Daniella Tilbury, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gibraltar and UE4SD Project Director - Words and Music

20:00 Conference Dinner

Wednesday 29 June



Conference outcomes

Organizers and sponsors




EU flag LLP EN-01





Contact us

We look forward to hearing from you. If you have any questions about the Conference, please contact us.

Top of Form

University of Gibraltar
Europa Point Campus
GX11 1AA

Tel.: +350 20071000

Email: conference@unigib.edu.giBottom of Form